University of Louisville University Libraries

DIGITAL COLLECTIONS

Add or remove other collections to your search:



 

Narrow your search by:



You've searched:

All Collections
  • Description: razed
(56 results)



Display: 20

    • The day of the Lord.

    • The day of the Lord.

    • Human-machine systems--Fiction; Science fiction; Pretoria (South Africa)--Fiction; Humanism in literature

    • This sci-fi screenplay confronts issues razed by the Transhumanism movement, a growing speculative science that deals with the merger of humans with technology. The Day of the Lord portrays a world where this merger could threaten the very soul of...
    • Otter Hall, before 1979.

    • Otter Hall, before 1979.

    • Buildings; University of Louisville--Buildings; Barracks; Students; Dormitories; Men; Women

    • A group of students (perhaps members of the Deja-vu staff) pose at the entrance of Otter Hall, which housed student publication offices at the time. Another "barracks building" is visible in the background. One of the Naval Barracks, it...
    • Athletic and Ticket Office.

    • Athletic and Ticket Office.

    • Buildings; University of Louisville--Buildings; Ticket offices; Offices;

    • The Athletic and Ticket office was located next door to the present day Office of Minority Affairs. It was razed to make way for the Student Activities Center. Location: Belknap Campus: Brook & Brandeis Streets. Current uses: This building was...
    • Rialto Theatre construction, October 13, 1920.

    • Rialto Theatre construction, October 13, 1920.

    • Buildings; Building construction; Theaters; Cultural facilities; Rialto Theatre (Louisville, Ky.)

    • Address: 616 S. Fourth Street (Demolished, 1969) . The classical façade of the Rialto made extensive use of white-glazed terra cotta tile from Cincinnati's Rookwood Pottery. This scene shows some of the machinery used in the construction as well...
    • Vienna Restaurant, bar.

    • Vienna Restaurant, bar.

    • Buildings; Restaurants; Bars; Vienna Model Bakery & Restaurant (Louisville, Ky.)

    • Address: 133-135 S. Fourth Street (Building no longer exists.) The Vienna Bakery and Restaurant was founded by German immigrant Frank L. Erpeldinger in 1893 and operated as one of downtown Louisville's premiere dining establishments until 1927....
    • Girl's Dormitory, called "Carnahan Hall".

    • Girl's Dormitory, called "Carnahan Hall".

    • Oneida Baptist Institute; Dormitories; Educational facilities; Boarding schools

    • Carnahan Hall, a three-story girls' dormitory, which was built at Oneida Baptist Institute in 1905. The frame building at the left is a meat house and laundry. Carnahan Hall was converted to a boy's dormitory in 1925 and razed in 1968. This image...
    • Girl's Dormitory.

    • Girl's Dormitory.

    • Oneida Baptist Institute; Dormitories; Educational facilities; Boarding schools

    • Carnahan Hall, a three-story brick building, erected as a girls' dormitory in 1905. It was converted to a boys' dormitory in 1926 and razed in 1967. See ULPA 1982.01.300.p for another image of this building.
    • Gayety Theatre.

    • Gayety Theatre.

    • Theaters; Cultural facilities; Buildings; Interiors

    • Interior of Gayety Theatre, located at 313 W. Jefferson, Louisville, Kentucky. Orchestra seats, balcony, and box seats are visible. The building was razed in 1936.
    • Auditorium, Louisville, Kentucky.

    • Auditorium, Louisville, Kentucky.

    • Auditoriums; Theaters; Cultural facilities; Buildings

    • Ampitheatre Auditorium in Louisville, Kentucky, built by William F. Norton Jr. in 1889 from material salvaged from the Southern Exposition, and razed in 1904 following Norton's death in 1903. Handwritten on mounted print: "Auditorium, S.W....
    • Walnut Street, Louisville, Kentucky.

    • Walnut Street, Louisville, Kentucky.

    • Streets; Buildings; Macauley's Theatre (Louisville, Ky.); Theaters; Cultural facilities; Automobiles

    • Block of West Walnut Street including Macauley's Theatre (329 W. Walnut Street) and the offices of the Louisville Post, with cars parked along street. The theater was razed after the final performance on August 29, 1925, and the Starks Building now...
    • Alamo Theatre.

    • Alamo Theatre.

    • Theaters; Motion picture theaters; Cultural facilities; Buildings; Interiors

    • Interior of Alamo Theatre (movie theatre in Louisville, Kentucky), photographed from back of theater. The theater was razed circa 1930. Handwritten on bottom of mounted print: "Alamo Theatre; R.G. Potter Collection; Alamo Theater 441-443 So....
    • Asylum for the Blind, Louisville, Ky.

    • Asylum for the Blind, Louisville, Ky.

    • Kentucky School for the Blind; Schools

    • Kentucky School for the Blind on Frankfort Avenue in Louisville, Kentucky, seen from the front. This institution's original name was the Kentucky Institution for the Education of the Blind. The structure in this image was built in 1855 and razed in...
    • Arts and Sciences Building (former).

    • Arts and Sciences Building (former).

    • Buildings; University of Louisville--Buildings; Educational facilities;

    • The Silas Miller mansion, former home of the College of Arts and Sciences. The front and side entrances are visible. There are a few trees in front of the building. A wrought-iron fence is visible at the front edge of the image. In 1925 the...
    • Art Studio, before 1979.

    • Art Studio, before 1979.

    • Buildings; University of Louisville--Buildings; Studios; Religious facilities; Educational facilities;

    • The Art Studio, a small brick building. The front entrance and a covered side entrance are visible. There is ivy growing on the front of the building, and leaves on the grass in the foreground. The Art Studio was razed in 1979 to make room for...
    • Menges Hall, circa 1953.

    • Menges Hall, circa 1953.

    • Buildings; University of Louisville--Buildings; Barracks; Offices; University of Louisville. School of Business; Dormitories

    • Entrance to Menges Hall, one of the Naval Barracks. The entrance includes faux columns. There are trees in the foreground, without leaves. "First home of the School of Business, University of Louisville, 1953-54." This building was moved...
    • Menges Hall, before 1953.

    • Menges Hall, before 1953.

    • Buildings; University of Louisville--Buildings; Barracks; Dormitories; University of Louisville. School of Business; Southern Police Institute

    • Menges Hall, a former barracks building used for various purposes by the University of Louisville. The side of the building is fully visible; part of another barracks building is visible behind it. A Gulf Oil sign rises above it in the rear. The...
    • Belknap Gymnasium, circa 1932.

    • Belknap Gymnasium, circa 1932.

    • Buildings; University of Louisville--Buildings; Gymnasiums; Sports & recreation facilities;

    • Belknap Gymnasium, a large brick building. One section of the building has a slanted roof; a smaller section has a flat roof. Doors are visible on two sides of the structure. A tree is visible to the side; it is leafless. A Gulf Oil sign rises in...
    • Belknap Gymnasium.

    • Belknap Gymnasium.

    • Buildings; University of Louisville--Buildings; Gymnasiums; Sports & recreation facilities; Automobiles; Parking;

    • Belknap Gymnasium at the University of Louisville. A taller portion and a doorway are visible; a lower section is partially obscured by a tree. There are cars pariked in handicapped parking spaces in front. Belknap Gym was built as a WPA project...
Coming soon

This content is not yet available. Please check back.

 

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
on off
 

Layout options:

Thumbnail with title
Grid with smaller thumbnails and more detail
Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK
Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK