Skip to main content
University of Louisville University Libraries

DIGITAL COLLECTIONS

Add or remove other collections to your search:



Narrow your search by:



Contributors

Creator

Coverage

Subject

Type

You've searched: All Collections

  • Description: (32)
(128 results)



Display: 20

    • BELLE OF THE BENDS, 1898 - 1909.

    • Side wheelers; Steamboats; Boat & ship industry; Howard Ship Yards and Dock Company
    • BELLE OF THE BENDS, a side-wheel packet with wood hull (210 ft. x 32.6 ft. x 7.4 ft.), was built at Howard in 1898. Owned by Vicksburg & Greenville Packet Co., BELLE OF THE BENDS operated on the lower Mississippi River between Greenville and...
    • BOWLING GREEN, 1904.

    • Stern wheelers; Steamboats; Launchings; Boat & ship industry; Howard Ship Yards and Dock Company
    • BOWLING GREEN, a stern-wheel packet with wood hull (122 ft. x 32 ft. x 5 ft.), was built at Howard in 1904. Owned by Evansville & Bowling Green Packet Co., she operated on the Green River and sank at South Carrollton, Kentucky on March 31, 1920.
    • Duthie Center for Engineering, as Kersey Library.

    • Buildings; University of Louisville--Buildings; University of Louisville. Speed Scientific School; Libraries; Banners;
    • Close view of the front of Kersey Library of Engineering and Technology, looking up toward the gable on the front of the building. The word "Research" is inscribed over the columns of the doorway, below a small balcony-like structure. The Speed...
    • CLYDE (Way #1202), 1894.

    • Stern wheelers; Steamboats; Launchings; Boat & ship industry; Howard Ship Yards and Dock Company
    • CLYDE (Way #1202), a stern-wheel packet with wood hull (181 ft. x 32.5 ft. x 5.5 ft.), was built at Howard in 1894. She had a unique "split" paddlewheel. Owned by St. Louis & Tennessee River Packet Co., she operated on the Mississippi River. CLYDE...
    • DOLPHIN No. 3, 1897.

    • Stern wheelers; Tugboats; Steamboats; Launchings; Boat & ship industry; Howard Ship Yards and Dock Company
    • DOLPHIN No.3, a stern-wheel towboat with wood hull (155 ft. x 32 ft. x 5 ft.), was built at Howard in 1897. Owned by Dolphin Transportation Co., DOLPHIN No.3 operated in the St. Louis area. She was renamed HARRY ANDERSON (Way #T1046) in 1916 and...
    • DONORA, 1924.

    • Stern wheelers; Tugboats; Steamboats; Boat & ship industry; Howard Ship Yards and Dock Company
    • DONORA, a stern-wheel towboat with steel hull (140 ft. x 32 ft. x 6 ft.), was built at Howard in 1924. Owned by American Steel & Wire Co., she operated on the Monongahela River until she was retired in 1948.
    • E.R. ANDREWS, 1894.

    • Stern wheelers; Tugboats; Steamboats; Launchings; Boat & ship industry; Howard Ship Yards and Dock Company
    • E.R. ANDREWS, a stern-wheel towboat with a composite hull (165 ft. x 32.5 ft. x 5.2 ft.), was built at Howard in 1894. Owned by Campbell's Creek Coal in Cincinnati, she operated on the Kanawha and Ohio Rivers, towing coal to Cincinnati and...
    • EMILY, 1891.

    • Ferries; Stern wheelers; Steamboats; Boat & ship industry; Howard Ship Yards and Dock Company
    • EMILY, a stern-wheel ferry with wood hull (89 ft. x 32 ft. x 3 ft.), was built at Howard in 1891 and initially operated in the Kenova, West Virginia area. She was sold and renamed DIXIE BEE LINE (Way #1570) before burning at Henderson, Kentucky on...
    • GENERAL H.L. ABBOT, 1896.

    • Stern wheelers; Tugboats; Steamboats; Launchings; Boat & ship industry; Howard Ship Yards and Dock Company
    • GENERAL H.L. ABBOT, a stern-wheel towboat with wood hull (170 ft. x 32 ft. x 5 ft.), was built at Howard in 1895. Owned by U.S. Army Corps of Engineers in the St. Louis district, GENERAL H.L. ABBOT operated on the Mississippi River. She was renamed...
    • GEORGE W. MILLER, 1926.

    • Ferries; Stern wheelers; Steamboats; Boat & ship industry; Howard Ship Yards and Dock Company
    • GEORGE W. MILLER, a stern-wheel ferry with steel hull (138 ft. x 32 ft. x 4.9 ft.), was built at Howard in 1926. Owned by Mississippi River Ferry Co. she operated on the Mississippi River at Vicksburg initially. After a bridge was built at...
    • Duthie Center for Engineering, as Kersey Library.

    • Buildings; University of Louisville--Buildings; University of Louisville. Speed Scientific School; Libraries; Men;
    • Kersey Library of Engineering and Technology, front entrance. A man walks out the front door. While this building was known as Kersey at this time, the sign over the entrance way reads, "Research," as the building was originally built for the...

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK
Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK