Skip to main content
University of Louisville University Libraries

DIGITAL COLLECTIONS

Add or remove other collections to your search:



Narrow your search by:



Contributors

Creator

Coverage

Subject

Type

You've searched: All Collections

  • Description: on 1915
(118 results)



Display: 20

    • INCO No.1, 1915 - 1916.

    • Barges; Boat & ship industry; Howard Ship Yards and Dock Company
    • INCO No. 1, a self-propelled barge with steel hull (240 ft. x 42 ft. x 6.5 ft.), was built at Howard in 1915. Owned by Inland Navigation Company, it operated on the Mississippi River. This diesel powered vessel was built to introduce self loading...
    • Launch of steel barge, 1915.

    • Barges; Launchings; Boat & ship industry; Howard Ship Yards and Dock Company
    • Steel barge (124 ft. x 30 ft. x 7 ft.) being launched into the Ohio River at Howard Shipyard at Port Fulton (now Jeffersonville), Indiana in 1915. The barge was being built for someone in the port of New Orleans. There is an unfinished towboat in...
    • Bernheim Building.

    • Buildings; Automobiles; Windows; Caufield & Shook, Inc. (photographers); Bernheim Building (Louisville, Ky.)
    • Address: 638-640 S. Fourth Street. One of the earliest office buildings commissioned from the Joseph & Joseph firm, this striking building still stands. During the 1920s and 1930s, it housed the photographic studios of Caufield & Shook, who...
    • Kurfees Paint.

    • Buildings; Canopies; J. F. Kurfees Paint Company (Louisville, Ky.)
    • Address: 201 E. Market Street. The exterior of the Kurfees Paint building is shown. The entryway is covered by a suspended canopy and the front window cases have paint displays set up and the words "J.F. Kurfees Paint Co." painted on the glass. The...
    • Anderson County Courthouse.

    • Buildings; Courthouses; Clock towers; Sculpture
    • Address: 137 South Main Street, Lawrenceburg, Ky. The Beaux-Arts style Anderson County Courthouse is shown. The building is made of stone with four columns holding up the cornice. The top of the building is noted for its cupola with inset clock. In...
    • Boys High School, Louisville, Kentucky, 1915.

    • Buildings; Educational facilities; Schools; Louisville Male High School (Louisville, Ky.)
    • Boys High School, later Male High School, at the corner of Brook Street and Breckinridge Street, Louisville, Kentucky. Four-story building with front entrance pillars and also a small side porch. There are pediments over the top floor's windows,...
    • Collegiate School, Louisville, Kentucky, 1931.

    • Buildings; Educational facilities; Schools; Private schools
    • Collegiate School, a private elementary and high school, located at 2427 Glenmary Avenue in Louisville, Kentucky. Rectangular, two-story building with a row of dormers on the roof, and keystones over the windows on the body of the building. The...
    • Kurfees Paint building, Louisville, Kentucky, 1928.

    • Buildings; J. F. Kurfees Paint Company (Louisville, Ky.); Fire escapes; Signs (notices)
    • Address: 201 E. Market Street. The exterior of the Kurfees Paint building is shown. The entryway is covered by a suspended canopy and the front window cases have paint displays set up and the words "J.F. Kurfees Paint Co." painted on the glass. The...
    • East Broadway Theatre, lobby.

    • Buildings; Theaters; Cultural facilities; East Broadway Theatre (Louisville, Ky.)
    • Address: 816 E. Broadway. This interior shot of the East Broadway Theatre lobby shows a wall mural of a countryside, tiled walls and floors and a metal-grilled ticket counter. The sign over the ticket window reads, "Prices / Boxes 15¢ / Adults 10¢...
    • J. Stoddard Johnston Elementary School.

    • Buildings; University of Louisville--Buildings; Educational facilities
    • The building appears to have been purchased by the University of Louisville in March, 1981. It was the site of a University of Louisville daycare center, 1981-1997. Beginning in 2000, police used it for an anti-terrorism/hostage training facility....
    • Black Affairs Office (former).

    • Buildings; University of Louisville--Buildings; Offices;
    • This building served as the home of the Office of Black Affairs until its move to 120 East Brandeis, circa 1976. The Black Affairs Office was located on the site of the present day College of Education and Human Development. Location: 1915 South...
    • Jefferson County Poor Farm Home, Louisville, Kentucky, 1930.

    • Buildings; Welfare facilities; Public service; Almshouses; Assistance; African Americans
    • Jefferson County Poor Farm Home for Negros, Louisville, Kentucky. A one-story brick building with a concrete porch and tall grass. The Jefferson County Poorhouse was established in 1858 near Jeffersontown to provide a caring environment for the...
    • Bernheim Building.

    • Buildings; Windows; Bernheim Building (Louisville, Ky.)
    • Address: 638-640 S. Fourth Street. The Bernheim Building is shown with a sign reading "For Rent / This vestibule space & show window / including basement / also light rooms on 2nd & 3rd floors / Both [?] 1474 / Apply M. S. Kohler / 1610...
    • Canadian Girls in Training.

    • Canadian Girls in Training (CGIT)
    • The honor quilt was commissioned by the Alberta CGIT Association for the National CGIT Association whose headquarters is in Toronto, Ontario, Canada. / The quilt was made by Mada MacLachlan Gibson, for whom quilting and CGIT are intertwined. Before...
    • Male High School, Louisville, Kentucky, 1913.

    • Canopies; Buildings; Schools; Educational facilities; Historic buildings; Louisville Male High School (Louisville, Ky.)
    • Address: 911 S. Brook Street, Louisville, Kentucky. Starting in 1915, this building hosted Louisville Male High School. The multi-story stone building includes four pairs of Corinthian columns supporting a canopy over the front steps and entryway....
    • New statehouse, now building.

    • Capitols; Kentucky State Capitol (Frankfort, Ky.)
    • A drawing of the new Kentucky state house, flanked by smaller drawings of the four previous structures. The smaller drawings, which are framed with circles, are labeled "temporary state house 1793," "1st state house 1794-1813," "2nd state house,...

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK
Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK