University of Louisville University Libraries

DIGITAL COLLECTIONS

Add or remove other collections to your search:



 

Narrow your search by:



Type

Coverage

Subject

Contributors

Creator

You've searched:

All Collections
  • Description: circa
(148 results)



Display: 20

    • Ormsby Building.

    • Ormsby Building.

    • Buildings; University of Louisville--Buildings;

    • Ormsby Building, with utility poles in the foreground. Purchased by Ollie Green from the University of Louisville, circa 1994. Former uses: Computer center; computing and telecommunications; information technology. Location: 1300 South Fourth...
    • Fine Arts Building, in use as cafeteria, late 1950s.

    • Fine Arts Building, in use as cafeteria, late 1950s.

    • Buildings; University of Louisville--Buildings; Cafeterias; Tables; Chairs; Women;

    • Dining area with round tables and chairs, a coat rack, and couches. Three women sit at a table near the back. There are ketchup bottles, salt and pepper shakers, and sugar dispensers on the tables. This has been identified as a picture of the...
    • Arts and Sciences Building (former).

    • Arts and Sciences Building (former).

    • Buildings; University of Louisville--Buildings; Educational facilities;

    • The Silas Miller mansion, former home of the College of Arts and Sciences. The front and side entrances are visible. There are a few trees in front of the building. A wrought-iron fence is visible at the front edge of the image. In 1925 the...
    • Ford Hall, 1920s.

    • Ford Hall, 1920s.

    • Buildings; University of Louisville--Buildings; Educational facilities;

    • Ford Hall during the period when it provided space for alumni receptions (probably in the mid-1920s). There is a leafless tree in front of the building. Circa 1945, served as a cafeteria and lounge for staff members. Originally known as the...
    • J. Stoddard Johnston Elementary School.

    • J. Stoddard Johnston Elementary School.

    • Buildings; University of Louisville--Buildings; Educational facilities

    • The building appears to have been purchased by the University of Louisville in March, 1981. It was the site of a University of Louisville daycare center, 1981-1997. Beginning in 2000, police used it for an anti-terrorism/hostage training facility....
    • Ford Hall, 1926.

    • Ford Hall, 1926.

    • Buildings; University of Louisville--Buildings; Educational facilities; People; Lawns;

    • People walk and stand along sidewalks in front of Ford Hall. A large grass-covered area is visible in front of the building, which is partially obscured by trees. Originally named for Peter Caldwell, Louisville Industrial School superintendent for...
    • Wyatt Hall, circa 2009.

    • Wyatt Hall, circa 2009.

    • Buildings; University of Louisville--Buildings; Educational facilities; University of Louisville. School of Law; Columns; Cupolas; Trees; Cannons;

    • Front of Law School building now known as Wyatt Hall. The leaves on the tree in front of the building have turned from green to orange. The ionic columns at the front entrance can be seen, and a banner is strung between two of them. The words...
    • Ford Hall snackbar, 1936.

    • Ford Hall snackbar, 1936.

    • Buildings; University of Louisville--Buildings; Ford Hall (Louisville, Ky.); Men; Women; Snack bars; Bookstores; Books; Counters; Advertising;

    • Believed to be the snack bar in Ford Hall. There are men and women sitting at tables, drinking (apparently) sodas from bottles. The couple seated in the foreground have been identified as Louise Walther Berg and Kenneth C. Doll. Others stand by a...
    • Louisville Municipal College, before 1951.

    • Louisville Municipal College, before 1951.

    • Buildings; University of Louisville--Buildings; Louisville Municipal College for Negroes (Louisville, Ky.); African American universities and colleges; Educational facilities; Automobiles;

    • Louisville Municipal College with other buildings in the background and cars in the road in the foreground. The entranceway to the building is visible, as is the lawn in front. Louisville Municipal College was the racially separate college for...
    • Wyatt Hall, circa 1950s.

    • Wyatt Hall, circa 1950s.

    • Buildings; University of Louisville--Buildings; Men; Automobiles; Educational facilities; University of Louisville. School of Law; Columns;

    • Law School building now known as Wyatt Hall. Several men appear to be walking toward the building; there is a car parked in front of the building as well. The building's weather vane is partially visible over its portico. This Law School building...
    • Black Affairs Office (former).

    • Black Affairs Office (former).

    • Buildings; University of Louisville--Buildings; Offices;

    • This building served as the home of the Office of Black Affairs until its move to 120 East Brandeis, circa 1976. The Black Affairs Office was located on the site of the present day College of Education and Human Development. Location: 1915 South...
    • Chemistry Annex.

    • Chemistry Annex.

    • Buildings; University of Louisville--Buildings; Radio stations; Research facilities

    • The building used as the Chemistry Annex was moved to Belknap Campus from Bowman Field, circa 1947. Location: Belknap Campus: Central (behind present-day Gottschalk Hall, then used as Chemistry Building). Former names: Chemistry Lab, Photographic...
    • Keller Child Psychiatry Research Center, late 1960s.

    • Keller Child Psychiatry Research Center, late 1960s.

    • Buildings; University of Louisville--Buildings; Research facilities; Health care facilities; Educational facilities;

    • Keller Child Psychiatry Research Center building, with landscaping and entryway. This image appears to have been made around the time the building was completed (circa 1967). Current uses: Supports study and treatment of emotional disorders in...
    • Cardinal Inn, before 1967.

    • Cardinal Inn, before 1967.

    • Buildings; University of Louisville--Buildings; Restaurants;

    • The original Cardinal Inn, opened in 1926, was razed to make room for the Humanities Building. A new Cardinals Inn was opened by the same managers on Brook Street in front of the current location of the Swain Student Activities Center (SAC) in...
    • Cardinal Inn, before 1967.

    • Cardinal Inn, before 1967.

    • Buildings; University of Louisville--Buildings; Restaurants;

    • Cardinal Inn restaurant, featuring a Coca-Cola sign. The building is on a corner and there are vehicles parked in the street in the background; a house stands next to the restaurant. The original Cardinal Inn, opened in 1926, was razed to make room...
Coming soon

This content is not yet available. Please check back.

 

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
on off
 

Layout options:

Thumbnail with title
Grid with smaller thumbnails and more detail
Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK
Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK